Ninth Floor, 747 Fort Street, Victoria BC V8W 3E9
Tel: (250) 983-4959 Fax: (250) 953-3195
bchprb.ca hprbinfo@gov.bc.ca

Appointment and Compensation

Appointment

The Chair is chosen based on merit. Their initial term lasts three to five years. Later terms can last up to five years.

Vice Chairs and members are responsible for fairly and efficiently deciding appeals assigned to them by the Chair. The Vice Chair(s) may fulfill some duties of the Chair, at the request of the Chair or where the Chair cannot complete their duties.

Cabinet appoints members and Vice Chairs to initial terms of two to four years, and may appoint them to terms lasting up to five years. These appointments are made after consultation with the Chair.

The board is supported by the Environmental Appeal Board Staff and Chair also provides leadership for eight review/appeal bodies. They are responsible for administrative, human resources, and information technology/management for this group of review/appeal bodies.

Compensation

Pay for members, including the Chair, is set by the Cabinet orders that appoint them. The rates are specified in British Columbia's <u>Treasury Board Directive 1/20</u>, based on how it classifies the Board. The Board is in the third out of five categories.

Compensation of members for the 2022/2023 fiscal year are as follows:

Part time Appointees					
Chair	Compensation				
David Hobbs	\$84,000				

Member	Compensation	Member	Compensation
Michael Alexandor	\$3,891	Celia Francis	\$12,578
Shannon Bentley	\$22,185	Lorna-Jeanne Harvey	\$10,363
David Blair	\$23,375	Amanda McReynolds	\$22,902
Marilyn Clark	\$34,625	David Newell	\$4,938
Ryan Clements	\$2,200	John O'Fee K.C.	\$5,188
Douglas Cochran	\$38,031	John Orr K.C.	\$16,438
Gregory Cran	\$33,689	Helen Roberts	\$28,706
Brenda Edwards	\$35,888	Katherine Wellburn	\$38,688
Total Remuneration (Pa	\$417,685		