Ninth Floor, 747 Fort Street, Victoria BC V8W 3E9
Tel: (250) 983-4959 Fax: (250) 953-3195
hprb.gov.bc.ca hprbinfo@gov.bc.ca

Appointment and Compensation

Appointment

The Chair is chosen based on merit. Their initial term lasts three to five years. Later terms can last up to five years.

Vice Chairs and members are responsible for fairly and efficiently deciding appeals assigned to them by the Chair. The Vice Chair(s) may fulfill some duties of the Chair, at the request of the Chair or where the Chair cannot complete their duties.

Cabinet appoints members and Vice Chairs to initial terms of two to four years, and may appoint them to terms lasting up to five years. These appointments are made after consultation with the Chair.

The board is supported by the Environmental Appeal Board Staff and Chair also provides leadership for eight review/appeal bodies. They are responsible for administrative, human resources, and information technology/management for this group of review/appeal bodies.

Compensation

Pay for members, including the Chair, is set by the Cabinet orders that appoint them. The rates are specified in British Columbia's <u>Treasury Board Directive 1/20</u>, based on how it classifies the Board. The Board is in the third out of five categories.

Compensation of members for the 2021/2022 fiscal year are as follows:

Part time Appointees					
Chair	Compensation				
David Hobbs	\$67,050				

Revised: June 30, 2022

Member	Compensation	Member	Compensation
Michael Alexandor	\$3,194	Roy Kahle	\$14,813
Lorianna Bennett	\$2,813	Amanda McReynolds	\$52,188
Shannon Bentley	\$34,000	Nancy Merrill	\$4,063
David Blair	\$24,953	David Newell	\$8,688
Marilyn Clark	\$39,688	John O'Fee QC	\$7,875
Ryan Clements	\$3,025	John Orr QC	\$14,875
Douglas Cochran	\$25,516	Philip Riddell	\$2,834
Gregory Cran	\$40,158	Helen Roberts	\$20,664
Brenda Edwards	\$44,047	Donald Silversides QC	\$7,625
Celia Francis	\$10,456	Katherine Wellburn	\$33,875
Lorna-Jeanne Harvey	\$10,656		
Total Remuneration (Pa	\$473,056		